Message from the 2021/2022 Presiding Member

The Mining and Quarrying Occupational Health and Safety Committees main function is to administer the annual expenditure from the Mining and Quarrying Industries Fund. The Committee continues to perform this function, with due diligence, commitment and a strong sense of responsibility.

MAQOHSC actively and directly engages with stakeholders who include mining and quarrying companies, contractors and government to improve the state’s workplace safety.

The Committee targets activities in accordance with the framework of the strategic plan. The key elements of the strategic plan are prevention of harm, education and training, research and innovation and supporting others.

MAQOHSC actively supports industry and funds research and injury prevention projects.

I look forward to continuing to work with the Committee and industry stakeholders to proactively promote good work safety and hygiene practices with an aim to prevent injury and disease within the South Australian mining and quarrying sector.

A/Presiding Member

Peter Lamps                                                                     


Awaiting nomination and appointment (2)
Nominated by Industrial Relations Consultative Council

Rebecca Knol Nominated by SA Chamber of Mines and Energy

Christopher Spinks Nominated by SafeWork SA

Peter Lamps Nominated by SA Unions

Marcus Pare Nominated by SA Unions

Michael Close Nominated by Cement Concrete & Aggregates Australia

Deputy Members

Ingo Block (Deputy to R Knol)

Peter Russell (Deputy to M Pare)

Nathan Crack (Deputy to P Lamps)